What are you thankful for?!

Something to be Thankful for1

 On the last Thursday of November, the Americans celebrate ”Thanksgiving Day”. Here are some information about this day and how it all began.  First of all Thanksgiving Day is a harvest festival and an important public holiday. It has been celebrated nationally on and off since 1789, after a proclamation given by George Washington. The event that Americans commonly call the „First Thanksgiving” was celebrated by the Pilgrims after their first harvest in the New World in 1621. This feast lasted three days, and it was attended by  Native Americans and Pilgrims. The New England colonists were accustomed to regularly celebrating „thanksgivings”—days of prayer thanking God for blessings such as military victory or the end of a drought. (Thanksgiving Day)

I didn’t have time to write about this day on Thursday, so I am doing this now because, as the saying goes ”better late than never”. Even if I am not American and I don’t celebrate this holiday, because of my job I had to discuss about it, and I didn’t mind at all. It is an important holiday and it has special meanings for the American people. But for me, is just like any other day, with the mention that it reminds me that I don’t have to forget to be thankful for the people in my life, for all the happenings that helped me become a better person, for everything that I have and I am.

I don’t think we should ”adopt” this holiday too, as we did with many other holidays, but I do believe that it is important to be thankful, and not just during this day, but everyday. Being thankful for what we have and what we are, will just make more room for other good things that will definitely  appear in our lives. All we have to do is to remember to be thankful every single day! 😉

As much as I can, I try to be thankful every morning and every night. Being thankful reminds us of how happy and blessed we are that we live, we have a family, we have friends and we have a purpose!

So, be thankful, not necessarily on Thanksgiving day, but everyday, because you have so many reasons…. 😉

Lasă un răspuns

